The Neon Museum honors the primary built-in on line casino resort in Las Vegas: Journey Weekly


The short-lived Moulin Rouge Casino and Hotel, the first large racially integrated property to help end segregation in Las Vegas, is the subject of a new exhibit at the Neon Museum.

The Museum of Gaming History placed the Moulin Rouge artifacts in the Neon Museum's La Concha visitor center. This includes promotional materials, gaming chips, souvenirs, dishes and postcards.

Moulin Rouge, which opened in the Westside neighborhood of downtown Las Vegas in 1955 and closed that year, hosted a major civil rights meeting in March 1960 that marked the beginning of the end of segregation in hotels and casinos.

One of the flyers from 1955 reads: "For years men have been dreaming of a resort where everyone is welcome, regardless of skin color, race or creed. Today, that daring dream has come true in Las Vegas and it is true in Las Vegas become. " breathtaking fashion. "

Moulin Rouge opened and closed several times and had multiple owners, including Sarann ​​Knight Preddy, the first African American woman to hold a Nevada gaming license. The property was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992. A fire in 2009 destroyed all but the neon sign, the hotel facade, and some structures on the property.

The Neon Museum reassembled and re-lit the sign last year.

The Museum of Gaming History sponsors eight gaming memorabilia across Las Vegas.